Posted by: John | January 13, 2010

Don’t like the bias on `Today` Prog – go watch `Hardtalk`

I received a reply to my complaint about the lack of representation of our Party on `Today` for the 7/1/2010.

I am astounded by that reply. It says that they’re sorry about the lack of a Lib Dem representative when dealing with the `snow coup` (my words) but direct me to Nick on `Hardtalk` instead.

The BBC’s duty regarding airtime parity is one it should take very seriously. However welcome Nick’s time on `Hardtalk` is it hardly equates to the esteem both in punch and audience figures as `Today`. I know that the Beeb doesn’t have to put this in the equation yet it should.

As a Party we’re getting better at fighting for oursevles and Nick’s doing well – let’s all get behind complaining to the BBC and other media organisations whenever such loopholes take place.

The email I received is thus:

Thanks for your e-mail regarding ‘Today’ programme as broadcast on 7 January.

I understand you were unhappy with choice of contributors on the programme, as you felt Liberal Democrat Party view regarding recent challenge to Prime Minster’s leadership, and their current party policies, should have been included.

I sincerely assure you that we’re committed to honest, unbiased reporting and are dedicated to remaining free from influence by outside parties, whether political or lobbyists. Impartiality forms the cornerstone of our News and Current Affairs programmes and we have nothing to gain by weighting our coverage in political.

As I’m sure you can appreciate it’s always difficult to include a range of opinions and mandates within one programme, however we do feel that all political parties receive equal levels of exposure across all our media formats.

You may be interested to know that recent ‘HARDtalk’ programme on BBC News Channel included an in-depth interview with Liberal Democrat Nigel Clegg, regarding party policies and plans for upcoming General Election.  This programme is still available on BBC iPlayer and I’ve attached a link below for your convenience:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b00psv2l/HARDtalk_Nick_Clegg_Leader_of_the_Liberal_Democrats/

I do appreciate your feedback regarding this issue and I’m sorry if you felt we didn’t meet your expectations on this occasion.  To this end I’d like to assure you that I’ve registered your comments on our audience log. This is a daily internal report of audience feedback which we circulate to all programme makers and editorial teams within the BBC, ensuring that your points and all other comments we receive, are circulated and considered across all departments.

Thanks again for taking the time to contact us.

Responses

  1. […] reference to my earlier post where I was told `it’s alright Nick Clegg was on Hardtalk` ignoring the massive differences in audience figures it’s about time Cowley St insisted on two […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

