Posted by: John | September 9, 2008

What is it exactly that the President does every day

That’s what i’m thinking as i’m reading the Ros4President website.

I just don’t know, it all seems a bit of a beauty contest to me. Why should I vote for Ros above anyone else?

In short to quote someone who is a thousand times worse than Ros `As for that President of the Lib Dems talk what is it exactly that the President of the Liberal Democrats does every day`?

I think the best thing would be for the candidates to describe what they think the role is rather than spouting on about voice of the members etc. Is there a defined role for President?

Responses

  1. I agree. Still no idea what the candidates will do as President or why each candidate is so well supported. It just seems Ros is a really nice person. Is that enough?

  2. Actually I’ve been along to one of Ros’s getting to know the member meetings and she went into some depth as to what she invisioned the role would be and what components would make up her day, if elected.

    Email her with the question and I’m sure she’ll be happy to add something along these lines or answer for you far better than I could here.

  3. I think it would be more helpful if she put up a statement as to what she thinks the President should do on the front page rather than having to go to `Why Ros?` as this is the most important question facing electors.

    I know it sounds nit-picking but is there an actual defined role for President? If so it should go on a seperate page. If not, would she work to create one? What does Bones say on the subject?

    I’m not happy that Ed Davey is supporting her as he has gone down in my estimations in the past few weeks. I am glad she won’t be a full-time parliamentarian – how would her Lords role conflict with her Presidency?

    I think if she fleshed out these questions more people would be interested in her.

    Who are the other candidates?

  4. Nitpick away, however in trying to keep a neat website you have to arrange it in pages somehow and what is important to some is not always the most important to other, or for that matter the host. I’m constantly rearranging the order of the gadgets in my blogs sidebar. Not necessarily on whims but on the relevany importance I feel each has based on the potnetial readership at any time, so can vary based on what I’m currently blogging about.

    However as for your questions:

    I know it sounds nit-picking but is there an actual defined role for President?

    No, not as such. Which may be part of the problem but also is part of the solution that Ros is trying to convey.

    If so it should go on a seperate page. If not, would she work to create one?

    I think most of that she has answer in why her. I’ve passed you blog post over to her team for consideration mind you. With just that suggestion.

    What does Bones say on the subject?

    TBH I haven’t a clue, having not studied that particular document (being Scottish based I’m more concerned with the detail of Calman rught now)

    I’m not happy that Ed Davey is supporting her as he has gone down in my estimations in the past few weeks. I am glad she won’t be a full-time parliamentarian – how would her Lords role conflict with her Presidency?

    This is one thing she has stressed is an advantage to how she sees the role. She won’t at some point during her term as President have to face an electorate, defend a majority etc. She also as a Parliamentarian as a working Peer has the respect of the Leader but feels that as such would also be able to approach the leader about any disquiet felt by the membership about the direction the leadership, shadow cabinet, parliamentary party etc are leaning/moving without the fear that might be associated with an MP in close working quarters with the leader and the others mentioned before.

    Of course you may want different things from the President of the party. But as I said before she has a lot to say that I cannot hope to summarise here but am sure that if you have any questions/issues you wish to raise with her an email would propably be a very good way to start.

  5. While I’m at it found this on the news section of her website from a blog entry she did back in April which I hope answers some of your questions.

    http://www.im4ros.com/newsitem.jsp?id=1MPCySonKnoJyfjvXimy

  6. Thanks for that – I still think it would help her if she just put a pithy statement on the front page.

    Most people don’t really know what the President does – all it needs is the two things that they do and how Ros will fulfill the role.


Leave a Reply

Categories

